Exfoliating With What?! Why sloughing off skin could be hurting our environment.

Today’s post comes from ILACSD’s Director of Development and Marketing, Morgan Justice-Black!

Update 1/15/2013: Unilever announces it will phase out the use of plastic beads in its products! More info here.

We live in a dry, arid climate, which means dry skin during the summer months. Chances are that for many of us, the daily routine of tooth brushing and face washing might also include a little exfoliating. You know, scrubbing with gentle, natural, sweet smelling microbeads. The good news – no dead, dry skin here. The bad news – you could be scrubbing your face (and body) with plastic!

Photo Credit: Surfrider Foundation

This issue came to my attention thanks to our friends at Surfrider Foundation’s Rise Above Plastics campaign. They showed an image of the ingredient list on the back of a bottle of “natural daily scrub with microbeads” and I was shocked! The fourth ingredient… polyethylene! That’s right; those microbeads are actually polyethylene pieces of PLASTIC! I went home and checked out my favorite foot scrub and right there in front of my eyes was that word…polyethylene. Not only does it seem “unnatural” to rub your face and body with plastic, but what happens to these little plastic beads when they go down the sink or tub? Do they get filtered, captured and recycled? Absolutely not!

Those innocent looking microbeads end up flowing into local watersheds and out to the ocean! How do we know? Well, 5 Gyres, a reputable research organization focusing primarily on plastic pollution hinted at it in a recent blog post. Just one sample from their study this summer in the Great Lakes contained 600 plastic microbeads!

Now that you are in the know, don’t let the facial cleanser industry pull the wool over your eyes any longer. Check the list of ingredients on everything that you buy, and if you see an exfoliating product that contains polyethylene, don’t buy it!

Thanks to the Surfrider Foundation and 5 Gyres for helping to bring attention to this!

11 thoughts on “Exfoliating With What?! Why sloughing off skin could be hurting our environment.

  1. Hello there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha
    plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform
    as yours and I’m having trouble finding one? Thanks a lot!

  2. Spot on with this write-up, I really think this web site needs a lot more attention. I’ll
    probably be back again to read more, thanks for the information!

  3. That is a very good tip particularly to those fresh to
    the blogosphere. Simple but very accurate info… Thank you for
    sharing this one. A must read article!

  4. Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; many of us have
    created some nice procedures and we are looking to exchange techniques with
    others, please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  5. I do agree with all of the ideas you have presented on your post.
    They are very convincing and will certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are very
    quick for novices. May you please lengthen them a bit
    from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

Leave a Comment